25
Feb
09

The Whole Leader

My friend Larry [who has interviewed hundreds of IT and business execs over many years] said to me the other day, “this is a time for leadership — complete individuals.” Larry’s always coming up with clever descriptors, but I find this an especially interesting concept not often applied to the workplace. Making all parts of oneself intentionally present and involved. Am I pulling inner strength I didn’t know I had, or didn’t want to put the effort into? Am I admitting some uncertainty while still knowing where we need to go? Am I showing myself to be an accessible human being who’s openly facing my people and their need for leadership? Now more than ever, strong leadership from complete leaders is what will bring organizations successfully to the other side. This means perhaps some extra time, some extra effort, some extra courage, and the honesty to be human together even in the face of tough odds. If you’re feeling in need of some inspiration, try Kenneth Brannaugh giving Henry V’s St. Crispins Day speech – an all time favorite of mine.


2 Responses to “The Whole Leader”


  1. 1 Betsy
    February 25, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    Love it that you used the Henry V reference! That’s a great example I’ve been able to use in the past.

  2. 2 Dara
    February 26, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    George Bernard Shaw said, “The greatest problem with communication is the illusion it has been accomplished.” I am majoring in organizational communications with a minor in psychology and am looking forward to becoming a leader or some kind. I’m not really sure what that is going to look like, but right now my goal is to open my own business in five years time. I am open to learning more from current leaders about what does and does not work for them in their business and how they keep open, successful communications with their subordinates. I have never “blogged” before and am very interested to see how this all rolls out. I currently work for an employer, who is by far one of the best bosses I have ever had. I am learning every day how to be an authentic leader, how trust is vital and how gaining buy-in from leadership teams is crucial to the success of strategic goals. I am also learning about strategic planning and witnessing (as a minute taker) in team meetings the strategic planning process form inception to fruition. It’s opened my mind to possibilities of what I want to do in the future and I believe strategic planning communications facilitator might be right up my alley. I am looking for other certifications, professional associations, and organizations that could help me transition from my current and past careers (Paralegal and Executive Assistant to VP of Student Affairs) to a leadership position. I realize it is going to be a tough transition and any pointers someone might have would be greatly appreciated. Take care, Dara


Leave a Reply

