01
Sep
09

Twitter Hype

Well, I’m trying to get into the world of Tweets, but help me understand!  A respected social media analyst I was following has taken to publishing his blow-by-blow whereabouts (I’m at the airport now, I’m at Oracle now) and I have to admit it’s like “So what?”  I’m still looking to get my footing with this latest social media phenomenon, which I’m reading has very little appeal to the younger millenial set. Imagine that – a social media tool that’s primarily the domain of us older types!  I get at least one email a day inviting me to a seminar or webinar or something that will teach me everything I need to know about promoting my business through Twitter and Facebook – do this and all problems will be solved.  I’m just not seeing it quite yet.  Is this just a newer form of texting? Is it ego expression? The use of Twitter in the recent political unrest in Iran is proof of its amazing power when specifically applied – but let’s hope those kinds of situations will be rare. Would love others’ opinions on what impact, if any, Twitter is actually having in your life.


1 Response to “Twitter Hype”


  1. September 6, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Hi Kathy,

    I’m with you on this. Perhaps the reason that Twitter is being used by ‘the oldies’ is that they don’t want to miss out on the latest groovy gadget. (The younger generations have already noticed that the emperor isn’t wearing any clothes and moved on).

    I blogged about how annoying I find the hype around Twitter as an “effective” internal communications tool. It created some great debate.
    http://desktopalert.blogspot.com/2009/07/twitter-as-effective-employee.html

    The most helpful comment came from Geoff from Vodafone (comment on the 2nd follow up post).

    Twitter is unfortunatley a necessary evil at the moment for us as a business because some of our target market are there experimenting and searching. I think (hope!) this will pass…we’re all too busy to read all that inane dross!

    Cheers,

    Sarah


Leave a Reply

